September 19, 2021

Bittrex International has suspended service in 31 countries

The Bittrex International cryptocurrency exchange has suspended service for traders in 31 countries, including Venezuela.

The list of blocked regions included Asian, African and European countries: Afghanistan, Egypt, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, the Central African Republic, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Tunisia, Ethiopia, Uganda and Yemen.

This decision was made by the Maltesea division of the American Bittrex exchange. The exchange has notified users that from October 29, 19:00 UTC, they will not be able to access their accounts and carry out trading operations. Representatives of the exchange asked traders to withdraw funds before this date, while the exchange did not state the reasons for the suspension of activity.

It is worth noting that due to US sanctionsVenezuela has become more loyal to cryptocurrencies, in particular, to bitcoin. The country is actively introducing the state digital currency Petro, tied to oil. In September, trading volumes in Venezuela grew by 48%, and in early October, the Venezuelan exchange CriptoLAGO, together with investment bank Glufco, began developing a debit card with support for BTC, ETH, DASH and Petro.